5 Great #EdTech Twitter Chats

twitterbirds-1024x571

Twitter chats are probably the aspect of Twitter that I find to be the most interesting and most useful. I follow a lot of different people on Twitter for a lot of different reasons (I can easily find out what’s going on in town, what cool restaurants are opening, if my favorite online shop is having a sale, etc), Twitter chats give you the chance to focus on a specific topic with a like-minded group of people.

Especially for professional development, this can be immensely helpful. You can connect with other educators around the globe who are doing what you’re doing. You can learn from their mistakes, share your experiences, get advice, and quite generally, learn from everyone around you. There are about a gazillion educational Twitter chats that happen regularly, but we thought we’d give you some information on a few of the big ones.

You can participate whether you’re a Twitter pro or a Twitter novice, all you need to do is follow along and add to the conversation with the appropriate hashtag. Many of the chats virtually meet at a certain day and time, where users agree to chat about a particular topic at that time. Don’t worry if you can’t make it, though, because the Tweets will still be there later for you to read by searching that hashtag. Many of the hashtags used for these chats are also added to Tweets written at any time that add to that conversation, so make sure to check in on your favorite discussions regularly!

#edchat

#Edchat is, as far as I can tell, one of the longest running Twitter chats around (at least in the education realm). There are two Edchat conversations every Tuesday at 12pm NYC/ 5pm UK and 7pm NYC/ 12am UK. You’ll find tweets relating to a huge variety of topics in education filed under this hashtag.

#lrnchat

#lrnchat is on Thursdays at 8:30-9:30pm ET/5:30-6:30pm PT, and is focused on social media and education. Tons of awesome information here!

#ntchat

#Ntchat is a great chat for new teachers. It happens on Wednesdays at 8pm EST/5pm PST.

#iPadEd

#iPadEd is a great ongoing chat about the use of iPads in educational settings. Fantastic resources, 1:1 classrooms and first hand experiences are shared.

#ECETech

Geared towards early childhood educators using technology, #ECETech is an ongoing discussion, and its related friend, #ECEtechChat happens every Wednesday at 9pm EDT.

2 Comments

  1. Susan M. Bearden

    November 25, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    Katie, I’d like to add #edtechchat to your list! Join us for discussions about all things education technology related on Monday nights at 8 PM ET. For more info and chat archives, visit edtechchat.wikispaces.com.

  2. Nathan (MDSL)

    November 27, 2013 at 9:45 am

    I recommend #edtechchat, too. Also Check #patue #1to1techat #kidscancode #byotchat #21stedchat. All of these chats offer experienced tweeters who can help you and discuss their experiences.

    I you need a little spice check #snarkchat. For holiday education giving advices, check out #coalchat. #glitterchat is great for learning more about glitter projects.