Add Edudemic To Your Google+ Circles

In preparation for our Edudemic+ sessions this Thursday and Friday, add Terry Heick to your circles so that you can join in the discussion, or watch from the sideline. We’ll curate all sessions via YouTube and post here, but if you want in on the fun, you’ll need to know where to find us!

“Climbing The Ladder That Matters” with Adnan Mahmud

Thursday February 2 at 12 p.m. Eastern/ 9 a.m. Pacific

www.jolkona.org   Jolkona on Twitter   Adnan on Twitter

Education is about personal empowerment–and guided personal change. After an epiphany while working at Microsoft, Adnan Mahmud stepped away from the rat race, and began a personal journey that would change his life. One of the wonders of the internet is its incredible potential to connect people, and enable the realization of dreams. As much as any other theme, the internet is about individual fulfillment through potent interdependence, and Adnan is proof of that. Adnan will be speaking with us via Edudemic+ on February 2 at 9 a.m. Pacific/noon Eastern about his venture, Jolkona. We’ll also discuss education, technology, and how the two can be used to improve the world on a sustainable level.

 

Edutopia’s New Teacher Academy with Elana Leoni , Betty Ray and Lisa Dabbs

Friday, February 3 at 1 p.m. Eastern/ 10 a.m. Pacific

www.edutopia.org   www.teachingwithsoul.com   Elana on Twitter   Betty on Twitter   Lisa on Twitter

More and more, teachers are personalizing their own professional development through online professional learning networks. In this session, we’ll talk with Edutopia’s Elana Lois, Betty Ray, and Teaching With Soul’s Lisa Dabbs about this phenomenon: teachers creating their own development opportunities, often for free, and through some sort of social media. We’ll also talk about Edutopia’s other efforts, including promoting digital fluency through project-based learning.